Lies of Lauren Booth UNCOVERED by Media Standards Watchdog OFCOM

by
  • Original Home Page – And another very early post from this blog
  • Current Latest Page
  • All Contents of Site – Index
  • Sign the Ban Blair-Baiting petition here
  • Comment at end

    4th August 2010

    UPDATE – 25th October, 2010: “Reversion” personified: “My name is Lauren Booth, and I am a Muslim”. Hardly news, but now official.

    NO-ONE TRIED TO KILL AMANUTJOB IN  IRAN! HONEST GUV, said a source in his office. More or less. It is reported that it said so at Iran’s Press TV (now removed). And Lauren Booth works for them (in association with a few other noble Brits). So we know we can trust them. The Beeb in its usual way, is seeking out the truth.

    EDITORS' NOTE: Reuters and other foreign media are subject to Iranian restrictions on their ability to film or take pictures in Tehran. Bodyguards react after the sound of an explosion behind the entourage of Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad (C) as he is welcomed to Hamadan, 336 kilometres (209 miles) southwest of Tehran, August 4, 2010. Ahmadinejad survived an attack with a homemade explosive device on his motorcade during a visit to the western city of Hamadan on Wednesday, a source in his office said. REUTERS/STR (IRAN - Tags: POLITICS IMAGES OF THE DAY)

    Thanks to DayLife here for the above picture and caption 

    The Censuring of Lauren Booth

    Lauren Booth, sister-in-law of former British prime minister Tony Blair, is a journalist and self-proclaimed pro-Palestinian activist. This video debunks one of the Big Lies spread by Booth that Gazans live in abject poverty and are starving.

    We’re All Gazans Now! Aren’t we just?

    Pic: Lauren Booth – A Gazan now! Receiving a VIP passport from Hamas PM Ismail Haniya, 28 August 2008

    Article below from Cif Watch –

    Lauren Booth Censured by UK’s media standards authority

    You might remember Lauren Booth’s essay for Comment is Free, on the Mavi Marmara incident, published on 2 June 2010.  Booth was a passenger on the 2008 Free Gaza boat and can be seen in this photo receiving a Gaza passport from Hamas leader, Ismail Haniyeh.  (See CiF Watch’s post “How to be a Useful Idiot“)

    Booth’s CiF piece included such objective passages as this, which not only defended the IHH terrorists on board the flotilla (portraying them as innocent victims of Israeli aggression), but used rhetoric simply dripping with sarcasm and unbridled contempt for the Jewish state:

    “Let me ask you one final question that’s been troubling me, as sympathy for those apparently fragile Israeli commandos continues to pour in. If you were on a boat in the Mediterranean and hundreds of the world’s most notoriously violent soldiers started falling from the sky, wouldn’t you defend yourself? The brave human beings on the Mavi Marmara were acting in self-defence.”

    As an excellent post at the blog of Honest Reporting (HR) noted, Lauren Booth was recently censured by Ofcom, the UK’s media standards authority, regarding her coverage of the Mavi Marmara incident.  Regarding a broadcast on the June 5 edition of “Remember Palestine,” Ofcom found that her report on Press TV (an English language network owned by the Iranian regime), failed to show even a modicum of impartiality.  (See Ofcom’s full report.) The report cited, among other breaches of ethical standards, these comments from the broadcast:

    • Lauren Booth: “Israeli commandoes . . . committed a massacre of innocent civilians sailing aid ships to the besieged Gaza strip.”
    • Lauren Booth: “This was obviously a barbarous attack on civilians.”

    Ofcom’s report also chided Booth for failing to:

    • “…balance the right to freedom of expression on one hand, with the need…to preserve due impartiality”

    On these pages, many of us have noted the phenomena of so many seemingly sophisticated, highly educated, CiF columnists who possess what can, at best, be described as a remarkably facile view of the Middle East – blindly accepting a narrative of the Israeli Goliath doing battle with the Palestinian David. Such “progressive” journalists’ seeming erudition is reduced to an almost puerile naiveté when dealing with totalitarian terrorist movements – whose leaders are shamefully misogynistic and anti-gay, openly call for Israel’s annihilation, and engage in explicitly anti-Semitic invectives.

    Booth, winner of HR’s 2008 Dishonest Reporting award, ended her CiF piece with the following (reportedly, while maintaining a straight face):

    “…And because of [Israel’s actions] many died. Something of the hopeful child in me died with them.”

    Yes, that pesky Jewish nation – not only randomly massacring innocent civilians, but corrupting the innocence of youth.

    (See CiF Watch’s video, “The Lies of Lauren Booth”, for more background)

    The link and an earlier airing of  this atrocious video are here

    Earlier jewels from this insane woman. Sorry, Cherie. She just is.

    Next for the high-jump after Ms Booth? Hopefully THIS equally vile Islamism-promoter, friend of Saddam and prize nincompoop


    Because I like to provide the occasional giggle to keep the bad dreams away, guys and gals, I just HAD to add this from the vain, vile, vicious, treacherous George Galloway  –

    GG:  “For that reason, I have been meeting with some of the world’s leading legal minds, and with those with the means to bring such a prosecution, with a view to seeing justice is done. Watch this space. Tony Blair certainly is.”

    Excuse me a second – HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    That’s better. But –

    “… the world’s leading legal minds … a prosecution … justice… Tony Blair certainly …”

    Hysterical! Does he KNOW any “leading minds”? Looks like it, from the above pictures! And, btw, I wouldn’t even claim that Mr Blair watches THIS space, Gorgeous Loudmouth, and this space admires him. HUGELY.

    _____

    Also reported at Britain’s Press Gazette. I bet that was painful for them. Censureship for an anti-westerner? Worrying.  Getting nearer by the minute, punmpkins.

    _____

    The law WILL catch up with you Galloway

    __________

    RECENTLY at CIF Watch

    Back to top
    _______________

    Sign the Ban Blair-Baiting petition here

    A recent comment from an Albanian, Mr Leonard Dedej from Tirana – “It takes big leaders to make the hardest turns in peoples life…mr Blair is a big leader and a great man for millions of people in Balkans!!!for stopping a savage war!about Iraq I believe that the press wherever it is has not the right to judge on this issue because it simply is to small to judge!!history will judge mr Blair!as long as it is an ongoing war no one can blame mr Blair,after all he started something for a big reason..the press its often wrong because it fights for audience!!!”




    Free Hit Counter

     


     

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    50 Responses to “Lies of Lauren Booth UNCOVERED by Media Standards Watchdog OFCOM”

    1. Peter Reynolds Says:

      On Ahmedinijad all I can say is what a pity they didn’t get him. The world would be a better place without him.

      I am totally opposed to capital punishment. I think incarcerating the most evil until their death is the price we pay for a civilised society. Putting someone to death in cold blood is, in my opinion, inhuman.

      I don’t feel the same way though about political assassination.

      I’ve never understood why we didn’t send in assassination teams to get Saddam. Now you’re going to tell me that we did and they all got killed? So send in some more – and some more until the job is done.

      There are thousands of borderline psychopath heroes who would volunteer for such work. Many of them are already in our armed forces or police (I mean no insult by that).

      I know I’ve opened a can of worms here. I speak from my gut in visceral reaction to the deranged and dangerous lunatic that is Ahmedinijad. But surely, if we coud have assassinated Hitler, Idi Amin, Mladic/Karadzic, Mugabe?

      It would be beyond murder. It would be an act of war but then that is what we were engaged in anyway.

      So I await the onslaught of rebuke, condemnation and accusations of villainy, naivete and foolishness.

      In fact, having given you such excellent content, I think I must turn it into a post on my own site.

      Cheers John!

      • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

        Ref:

        I don’t feel the same way though about political assassination.

        A dangerous thing to say, Pete, perhaps? Or is it OK if we just kill the ones we dislike? Trouble is we’re not all agreed on who should be assassinated. Are we?

        Not sure that I agree with you that we killed ALL those you name above, btw.And Mugabe, unfortunately, is still breathing, unless you know something I don’t.

        Your favourite HATE secret services operation Mossad, presumably, didn’t get away with it with the Hamas terrorist, did they. Did the Guardianistos cheer!? And there’s the problem: we have a high-horse poised liberal left of lunatic civil and human righters in this country, who get it all arse-backwards as to who exactly is our enemy and why.

        They’d rather Netanyahu copped it than Amanutjob. Bush than Saddam. Blair than George Galloway.

        I must be careful with my language here. Pauline doesn’t like it.

        Sante, mon ami.

    2. Peter Reynolds Says:

      Very dangerous, I know. Obviously we’re only going to kill the one’s we dislike – and the ugly ones maybe?

      Mugabe has to be the slipperiest eel in Africa, don’t you think? I haven’t seen much coverage of the current situation there but he seems to have wangled it his way. We were too late there.

      Mossad just isn’t as smart as it thinks it is, is it? Its reputation has taken a few knocks recently. My Mum always worries they’re coming to get me. Maybe she’s right but I don’t think l’il ol’ me is that important. (I could be wrong)

      Netanyahu? No, I wouldnt go that far. I’d put him on trial in the Hague. George Galloway I’ve got a lot of time for. You see, I can be eccentric too. I even find President Hugo Chavez of Venezuela interesting, if a little challenging.

      Now, seeing as I’m subscribed at huge expense, I’m going to try and watch some of these videos about Lauren Booth.

      On the other hand, I could watch that new video of Passionate Pauline and the Pineapple. Alastair sent it to me. He said I might enjoy it if I watched it with my eyes closed.

      • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

        The ugly ones, Pete? Well that lets some of us off. Pauline still thinks I’m sex-on-legs.

        I too have oftened wondered how Mugabe has survived so long. Especially when so many of his own people hate him.

        Still. political assassinations are best avoided. Copycat tendency. I saw a HardTalk interview with a niece of Benazir Bhutto last night. So much hatred within one family. She clearly thinks her aunt killed her father (Benazir’s brother.) And others. And that the present President of Pakistan is up to his elbows in blood too.

        She said most people in Pakistan don’t even notice when another political leader is taken out.

        I think your Mum is wrong about Mossad. You’re right.

        Galloway. You have time for HIM?! Pete – you KNOW he is as bad as Anjem Choudary at inciting hatred in the Muslim community against this country, don’t you?

        Personally I think I’d be in a bit of a moral maze as to what to do if I knew of a plot to remove him permanently. I wouldn’t have said that before he came up with this:

        https://keeptonyblairforpm.wordpress.com/galloway-on-blair-assassination-plot-why-exactly-is-it-a-moral-maze/

        Did you see the video of Galloway in London recently threatening 10,000 dead bodies on the streets of London? Hang on – I’ll find it.

        https://keeptonyblairforpm.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/arrest-george-galloway-for-inciting-and-threatening-murder-of-10000-british-citizens/

        Ah, I forgot . It was removed by one of GG’s Islamist mates. Just as well I took all the words down. Now THAT’S incitement. I may even have saved a copy. Must check.

        These Islamist thugs and fanatics have a thing about 10,000. “Lord” Ahmed threatened 10,000 marching on parliament when Geert Wilders was due to come here, before the idiot Home Secretary Jackie Smith banned him. She didn’t ban Ahmed, of course. Just Wilders.

        https://keeptonyblairforpm.wordpress.com/2009/01/29/lord-ahmed-threatens-to-mobilise-10000-so-wilders-visit-off/

        Far more educational than the pineapple one. It’s not true anyway. Don’t believe everything Alastair tells you. (Btw, glad to see you’re spelling his name right these days.)

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        OK but I’m still asking you, if we could have assassinated Hitler or Saddam, even at the loss of hundreds or thousands of assassins, wouldn’t that have been a better solution?

        • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

          Possibly so. But if we hadn’t PROOF that they had done what they did, the PC gang in Britain and the west would have been declaring THEM the innocent victims.

          That’s the result of democracy for you.

          Awful really.

    3. Peter Reynolds Says:

      Well I watched the video and read the rest of your article.

      I remember now why we used to disagree so vehemently. You’re a sensible chap. How come you’re taken in by this nonsense?

      The video is dreadful, tacky, character assassination in a video editing suite. It’s appalling. The use of the video of her children is beneath contempt. I think you should take that down. The rest of it is hamfisted scandal mongering. You can take anything and twist it you know!

      I am getting bored of repeating myself when I say there is great evil on both sides. Ms Booth, whatever you think of her, is working for peace. She may have many faults (as have you and I) but this attack on her is unworthy of you.

      • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

        Excuse me? You have clearly NEVER seen her rant in parks in central London. She says EXACTLY this, over and over. This is fact and one of the reasons the authorities are looking at her seriously.

        No-one posed her children to sing that stuff. SHE taught them!

        For Pete’s sake, Pete! Do your homework on this woman. She is a deep embarrassment to me. Can’t imagine what her sister and brother-in-law think. Well. yeah, I can imagine. If it were all fabricated – editing suite as you somehow (?!) suggest – do you not think she would have denounced it? Claimed so already? Islamists always shout INSULT whenever they get half a chance.

        Denial, denial, denial is coming from your direction, I’m afraid. Now I remember why we disagreed so much in the first place. The woman is a useful idiot to OUR enemies. And she is not fit to be in charge of children.

        We are ALL working for peace. None of us with brains denounce the west to do so.

        P.S., Pete – this YouTube channel has more on the revolting Galloway.

    4. Stan Says:

      Mr Reynolds, I see you’re trying to turn on the charm on these pages. But there was nothing at all charming about that grossly antisemitic comment you made in the thread on your Zionist Deception post, i.e. “Israel’s conduct since its inception raises all sorts of very uncomfortable questions about why the Jews were oppressed over so many centuries. What is it about Jewish behaviour that originally provoked such persecution?” A very snide way of suggesting that the Jews brought it on themselves.

      Since there has been no apology at your site perhaps you can deliver it on this one, if only to show this blog’s more civilized readership that you really are a decent sort of chap at heart.

      • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

        Stan – Pete tries – now and then, but his brain is completely addled.

        At least he’s not after Blair’s blood.

        For his edification I’ll add a video on George Galloway, including his words on the “assassination of Blair” morality etc –

        George Galloway Exposed Again

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        No Stan, I’m not sorry for the asking the question. I’m not going to be deflected by politically correct disapproval either!

        Anyway, the readers of my blog are at least as civilised as the readers of this one. Anyone who says any different, I’ll see ’em outside now, OK John?

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        I must confess I felt physically sick at the footage of Galloway meeting Uday Hussein.

        But who makes these selectively edited exercises in disinformation? Please don’t tell me it’s you. I don’t want to have to be that rude to you. Honestly, using this approach you could make Jesus Christ look beyond redemption.

        I don’t know enough about the man to pass judgment. If I was to act on the evidence you produce I’d pull the trapdoor lever myself but then, if I listened to your sort of propaganda, Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Mandela – they’d be next in the queue.

        You have changed my opinion of him though.

        • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

          Pete, me ol’ mate, these videos have been going round for years. A few of them even on the great BBC, and I know how you admire the Beeb.

          This is GG’s RECORD and it is well known. But your instinct is not to accept the evidence of your own senses, Pete. You immediately think it is a setup. It isn’t. This is Gorgeous George. In the raw.

          This is the problem we have in this country and in the west in general. We only see a few, very few of the pieces of evidence. It is, imho, because the authorities are running scared of the “10,000 Muslims” scenario. Although some Muslims actually called for him to visit the gallows, not that long ago. See here. I notice something about ‘10,000’ in this post too. Must be significant!!!

          You do know that GG met Saddam, don’t you? You did see him, then on the BBC (before they saw TB as the real villain) and heard what he said to him, didn’t you? Everyone saw that one. If not, Pete, you really shouldn’t be discussing these things. You are displaying the brainwashing and ignorance that the press and most of our politicians have laid upon much of this country.

          GG deserves our greatest disdain. He is beneath contempt.

          I would never say anything against Ghandi, Mother Theresa, Mandela. You KNOW that. Not that you’d try to wriggle out of a place of disquiet by exaggerating your case, Pete, me ol’ chum.

          Nice to know I have changed your opinion on the gorgeous one, anyway.

    5. Peter Reynolds Says:

      http://peterreynolds.wordpress.com/2010/08/01/the-centre-for-social-cohesion-a-zionist-deception/#comment-729

      Donations in cash only please.

    6. Stan Says:

      Mr Reynolds, I note from the link that you are getting into something of a lather about your integrity being impugned. Well if the cap fits why don’t you wear it? A racist remark like that is beyond the pale imho.

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        What? What? Which remark? It’s a strange game you play Stan and rather rude to be so cryptic on someone else’s site. Grow up.

    7. Stan Says:

      This one.

      “Israel’s conduct since its inception raises all sorts of very uncomfortable questions about why the Jews were oppressed over so many centuries. What is it about Jewish behaviour that originally provoked such persecution?”

      As I said in my related comment (scroll up a bit) this is a very snide way of suggesting that the Jews brought it on themselves.

      Btw, I see from the thread on your site that you are now suggesting in the same way that the Americans brought 9/11 on themselves.

      • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

        Stan,

        You’re wasting your time here with P Reynolds. Don’t you know he is a WE ALL KNOWER. It was the Israelis’ fault, America’s fault, the west’s fault. ALL of it. Every last Hamas member. Every jihadist. Every caliphate dreamer. Every ‘Jew-free Middle East’ idiot. If WE hadn’t put all of these ideas in the heads of our enemies, they’d never have them in the first place. Don’t you realise that yet?

        It’s a combination of ignorance and cognitive dissonance. I suppose a kind of ignorant dissonance. For instance, on several occasions here at this blog I have used or linked to evidence showing the roots of ALL of this mad fundamentalist Islamist behaviour. It was ALL LONG BEFORE 9/11. None of that matters to people with the ‘blame the west’ (and Israel) approach of Mr Reynolds, even though he, like us, does not apologise for Islamists’ behaviour.

        It’s the “be fair! agenda, y’see. It prevents the supposed liberal level-headed from working out who is the real enemy. Israel’s claim to the land under dispute is far stronger, FAR FAR stronger than Islam’s. They were there centuries before Islam was invented, or discovered, whichever came first. But those who want rid of the Jews in the Middle East – well, their memories only go back so far – usually about 2 years.

        Ignorant cognissance.

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        Stan, your “suggestions” are just ways of attempting to put words in my mouth. Why do you keep bouncing around between this site and my own? Is Tone paying you as well as me for your contributions?

        Never in the field of human conflict has so much procrastination been used to avoid answering such direct questions.

        The bluster and the blather and the slander and the politically correct disapproval are all very well but the questions are still there waiting to be answered.

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        ‘ere John, you’re getting precious close to throwing that clunking fist again aren’t you?

        Let’s “tone” down the insults shall we or I’ll be forced to retaliate. There’s no doctrine of non-violence in force here you know. I might have to bop you on the nose.

        “Ignorance and cognitive dissonance…ignorant cognissance” – now what rhymes with that?

        • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

          You’re a laugh-a-minute P. As Stan has pointed out before now you seldom ( I say “seldom” rather than “never” because you DID admit that I’d changed your opinion on Galloway) – you seldom respond with any arguments or authorititive sources re your opinions. Against the Jews, for instance, as is Stan’s argument with you.

          I also note this tendency elsewhere. You said in response to an idiot commenter that you say that Cameron being possibly worse than Blair is “stretching it” or something similar. That was in response to his latest gaffe on Iran’s “nuclear weapons”. And yet you also said to me here that you were either side of neutral on Blair, whatever that was supposed to mean.

          So consistency doesn’t seem to be your stock-in-trade. Or at least depending on who you’re speaking to. DC is an amateur in a professional world, and certainly not someone we should be “proud” is representing us on the world stage.

          Clunk away. You’ll be in good company in the ConDems.

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        “WHICH questions, P?

        Those that Stan has asked you?”

        C’mon John, keep up! Did you have your Big Macs for breakfast this morning? Maybe your blood sugar’s a bit low.

        Stan hasn’t asked me any real questions. He wants tortuous explanations of why my questions aren’t racist or prejudiced. I think that’s what you call sophistry. I’d rather he just answered them.

        What I would like to know, as I’m not a student of Jewish history, is where, when and why the persecution of the Jews started. As I’ve said at least a hundred million times now (although Stan doesn’t seem to want to hear it), I deplore the persecution of the Jews but I’d like to know what’s behind it. Obviously its wrong but there must have been something that started it off. It can’t be that the Jews are blamed for crucifying Christ because it’s not just Christians that have persecuted the Jews

        I know it’s an outrageously politically incorrect thing to ask but unless we ask and answer these uncomfortable questions, how will we make things better for the future?

        Stan seems to think that simply by asking this question I am condemned as a racist, an anti-semite (a term he misuses) and everything else evil that was ever thought of in the entire history of the world.

        You’re a sensible, down to earth sort of chap John and I appeal to you to ask Stan to calm down and answer my question rather than just bleating at what a bad boy I am to ask it.

        • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

          I haven’t really been up-to-date with all of this admittedly, P. I only had three Big Macs this morning instead of my usual bulimia-inducing 5, btw.

          I was referring to the question, or suggestion of Stan’s as here, where he quoted your words:

          “Israel’s conduct since its inception raises all sorts of very uncomfortable questions about why the Jews were oppressed over so many centuries. What is it about Jewish behaviour that originally provoked such persecution?”

          As I said in my related comment (scroll up a bit) this is a very snide way of suggesting that the Jews brought it on themselves.

          Btw, I see from the thread on your site that you are now suggesting in the same way that the Americans brought 9/11 on themselves.

          As far as I am concerned you are using the WE ALL KNOWERS argument, if only as an aside. With this sort of suggestion, or statement, that there must have been something that started Jew hatred – you seem to lend weight to the “nasty Jews” syndrome. There probaby WAS something that started it. The fact that for most of their existence the Jews have been successful. There are more geniuses in all sorts of fields and more Nobel prize winners that are Jewish than any other religion, if I recall accurately from a recent search on this. VERY few Arabs. Until the last couple of decades, none as I recall.

          Could it be, might it be just a simple question of ENVY? The same reason so many hate Blair. The succeesful and the winners are frequently shunned as evil by losers.

          So perhaps Stan’s point is that the REASONS they are disliked and distrusted could be argued positively for Jewish people. But as WE ALL KNOW the default position is the negative one.

          Since we all do this kind of tapping away to fill in the time between important things, he may find that the task – show us and the world WHEN and WHY exactly this anti-Jew business started – is an onerous task, and the subject of a disortation rather than a blog comment.

          I’ll tell you something about Stan. He is fairness personified. At times I have disagreed with him. Strongly. For instance he saw no problem in banning Wilders, a position which I saw as shameful by Brown’s government. No Free Speech argument in a world where Islamists can call for death to anyone they like, with NO comeback.

          His argument was that Wilder’s words are hate-inspiring. Sorry, but I can’t recall any Dutch people suicide-bombing Muslim immigrants because of what Wilders says. Or ANYONE says, come to that.

          And Stan fears that Muslims could be treated as were Jews in Hitler’s Germany. He is SO understanding of all of this, that at times I am at a loss.

          Anyway, got to go. Worlds to sort.

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        OK. Thanks for that John. I accept that as a reasonable hypothesis – Jews are successful. That may indeed have led to envy. Thinking aloud (v v dangerous if Stan’s listening), i wonder iff that’s because of some work ethic taught by the religion and perhaps adhered to because of the strict culture.

        “So perhaps Stan’s point is that the REASONS they are disliked and distrusted could be argued positively for Jewish people. But as WE ALL KNOW the default position is the negative one.”

        If that was Stan’s point then I missed it entirely. It was part of mine as well. I was trying to divine what it was about Israel’s conduct recently that might refer to the reasons why the Jews were subject to such persecution through the ages. You may well have it. It could well be that success, single-minded determination to succeed. I can see how that has led to envy. I can see now why that is seen as bullying and aggression.

        Again, I thank you for enlightening me. I need to re-consider my attitude to some of Israel’s behaviour. On the other hand, while this may explain some things it can’t excuse some of the excessive behaviour.

        mmm… interesting…

        I had a problem with banning Wilders even if you didn’t. I thought he should have been allowed in.

        Hope you get your worlds sorted.

        • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

          Pete, ol pal. I think I’m beginning to like you even better than all those years ago when you were Peter M’s mate and I was Aly’s.

          A litle re-focussing can work wonders, can’t it?

          Stan is taking things (insults) personally, and I must say I don’t altogether blame him. But he is not gving you pluse points for learning. Perhaps he now should.

          Over the last couple of days you’ve realised Galloway is a bad un and that perhaps most Jewsih people are good uns. I call that progress.

          I thought Wilders should have been allowed in too. Stan didn’t. That’s where he and I disagreed.

          Might only check in irregularly over the weekend. Busy each day. And not sorting worlds. The real world is sorting me this time.

          Will check in when I can, though.

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        “Over the last couple of days you’ve realised Galloway is a bad un and that perhaps most Jewsih people are good uns. I call that progress.”

        Steady on there! You sound like a Jehovah’s Witness after three successful calls! It’s not all black and white you know. The “goodness” or “badness” of Jewish people is nothing to do with me. That’s definitely putting words in my mouth.

        Sorry, cannot decipher your final riddle. Have a good weekend. I’m going to my Mum and Dad’s in Hertfordshire.

    8. Peter Reynolds Says:

      John,

      Have you heard that lil’ ol’ saying about why we have two ears and one mouth? I mean it metaphorically of course because we’re reading and writing here rather than listening and speaking but I do wish you’d absorb what I’ve written many. many times.

      I don’t blame the West or Israel for the great evil that Islam has become. I do think that we’ve made matters worse though, particularly Israel.

      I don’t want to get rid of the Jews in the Middle East or anywhere.

      I am getting tired of repeating myself. If you can’t accept what I say so that we can move on then there’s no future in this debate. That doesn’t mean you have to agree with me but you do have to accept that I know what I think and what my opinions are. Neither you nor Stan can tell me what I think!

      If DC is an amateur then who are the professionals? Tone? He’s retired. Netanyahu? He’s a war criminal.

      As for I “seldom respond with any arguments or authorititive sources re your (my) opinions” – well, Im sorry you don’t think so. I spend an awful lot of time trying to put my arguments across and you join in don’t you, or maybe I just imagined it?

    9. Stan Says:

      Just a quick comeback on the Reynolds question to me. The big give-away about it is that he should be asking what it is about the JEWS that cause them to be persecuted whereas decent people would be more interested in what it is about the PERSECUTORS ( and the Islamic 9/11 murderers) that causes THEM to be so evil.

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        Oh Stan! I was just beginning to go soft on you too!

        The “Reynolds question”? Not sure if I like that ol’ chum. Maybe I can have your surname so I can address you like some recalcitrant schoolboy too?

        I think your aggression is running away with you. You see above, John and I have managed to make propgress without getting overheated.

        I think your latest point fails though. My question (which may now have been answered by your more temperate friend) could only relate to what it is about the Jews because they are the common factor. There have been many persecutors but few persecuted (until Palestine).

        Anyway, I have an answer which I am still absorbing. A reason that the Jews have been persecuted in the past could be because they have always been so successful in many areas of life and this had led to envy.

        This quality that has enabled Jews to be so successful may well be what makes Israel appear to be a bully and so intransigent and bull headed.

        You see? Progress is always possible between people acting in good faith.

    10. Stan Says:

      Nice try at restoring your respectability, Mr Reynolds (you’ve even got KTBFPM softening towards you).

      You would obviously like us to believe that your infamous question about the cause of Jews being persecuted was simply one of genuine puzzlement with no hidden agenda.

      However if you look back at the comment you made you will see that the question was posed in the context of the following paragraph about how nasty the Israelis/Jews were.

      “Unfortunately, Israel’s behaviour has been dreadful. It has become the very thing which it was fighting against. It has built one of the most powerful military machines in the world which it has used to bully its neighbours. Its conduct since its inception raises all sorts of very uncomfortable questions about why the Jews were oppressed over so many centuries. What is it about Jewish behaviour that originally provoked such persecution? No civilised person can defend the persecution of the Jews but I am entitled to ask, given the way that Israel is now behaving, is there smoke without fire?”

      As such it was a rhetorical question (not one that was just searching for a truth) which was clearly and craftily meant to sow the thought that the persecutions were related to the evil ways of the Jewish people.

      You were therefore NOT acting in good faith but being a charitable sort of person I will interpret your backtracking as an admission that you were out of order.

      That’s what I call progress!

      • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

        Touche (with an acute, but I can’t be bothered finding one) from Stan, Peter?

        He’s very useful, our Stan, for reminding us of context. It’s the never-ending battle for Blairites, y’see. Separating fact from fiction.

        Btw, my “world” thing wasn’t a riddle, just that despite the opinions of some in my family on my attachment to this tappy screened plaything, some of the time families DO come first. But I might have more time than I thought tomorrow. We’ll see.

      • Peter Reynolds Says:

        No Stan. You’re wrong and I object to you impugning my good faith. Quoting my own words back at me does nothing to change the facts however much you might want it to. I stand by every word. I am entirely consistent, entirely honourable and losing paytience with you.

        You are suffering from a persecution complex. You are exhibiting precisely the sort of behaviour that Israel does. That is you think you have exclusive rights to the truth, you can say and do whatever you want yet you want to control what I say and think. You’re a bully Stan but it won’t work with me.

    Leave a Reply

    