What happens in Britain when a Muslim, a self-confessed would-be killer, is sentenced?

by
  • Original Home Page – And another very early post from this blog
  • Current Latest Page
  • All Contents of Site – Index
  • Sign the Ban Blair-Baiting petition here
  • Comment at end

    4th November 2010

    Click to Buy Tony Blair’s ‘A Journey’

    So what happens in Britain when a judge jails a Muslim (failed) killer?

    ‘Allahu akbar’ (‘God is great’), ‘British go to hell’ and ‘Curse the judge’…

    Yesterday when a Muslim student was jailed for life (minimum 15 years) for the attempted murder of Labour MP and former cabinet minister Stephen Timms, there were four main characters/groups of characters.

    This character is part of the ugliest group. A group which has NO place in an open democracy

    The interested parties

    1. The convicted assailant; 2. the guilty party’s supporters; 3. the victim; 4. the judge & jury.

    In a land where the law rules, OK? – we don’t expect to get a dose of screaming heebie-jeebies when the court passes sentence on a convicted criminal. But, hey! This is Britain, 21st century. We’re MEANT to be terrified by numbskulls!

    1. From the guilty party, Rhoshonara Choudhry , the “life” condemned –

    a broad, self-satisfied smile…

    2. From the courtroom’s public gallery, a trade of Islamist abuse directed at the judge Mr Justice Cooke – and predictably at a female Muslim juror (Sun) –

    ‘Allahu akbar’ (‘God is great’), ‘British go to hell’ and ‘Curse the judge’…

    Meanwhile outside, a second group demonstrated threatened with chants and ‘placards’…

    3. The victim at the centre of all this, Stephen Timms the mild-mannered MP also gave his evidence in court. He said that when she struck him the first time, he did not immediately realise she had used a knife, and shouted out, “What was that for?”  He also told the court,  “That was the last thing that I expected to happen and there was absolutely no explanation to me. She didn’t say a word. It was a complete bolt out of the blue.”

    Following her sentence Mr Timms showed no bitterness towards his attacker. In fact he seems as concerned that “Rhoshonara’s action is a tragedy for HER life” as he is about the fact that this woman could so easily have ended his.

    “I didn’t feel as though I was about to die but the doctors have since made clear without the emergency operation which I went through at the Royal London my life would have been in danger. As far as I can tell there are no lasting ill effects, physical as you say or psychological, mental either. But of course I mean it is possible some of those effects might take longer to emerge even than six months. I think it’s very important that I continue to be accessible as an MP and I would regret changes that made me less accessible or more distant. It had occurred to me that Iraq, concern about military action in Iraq could have been the motive for that attack, and that was confirmed by the police officers when they came after the interview. I think what’s happened to Roshonara is a tragedy for her as well as for me and I do think we need to take steps to protect others from being lured down the same sort of road.  I think the sentence is appropriate given the offence that she committed.  I hope that she will over time feel regret at what happened,  perhaps remorse for what happened. There’s absolutely no sign of that at the moment. So I think the sentence is an appropriate one.”

    4. The judge, Mr Justice Cooke.

    The outbursts [from the public gallery] came as Roshonara Choudhry, 21, was sentenced to life imprisonment for stabbing former minister Stephen Timms. Choudhry smiled broadly as the judge told her: ‘You said you ruined the rest of your life. You said it was worth it. You said you wanted to be a martyr.’

    In court the judge pointedly contrasted Mr Timms’ Christian beliefs with the ‘distorted thinking’ of his attacker, who refused to recognise the court and appeared by videolink for her sentencing. (See Mr Timms’ video on the attack below.)

    The Judge further addressed this woman, this convicted criminal:

    ‘I understand that he (Mr Timms) brings to bear his own faith, which upholds very different values from those which appear to have driven this defendant.’

    ‘Those values are those upon which the common law of this country was founded and include respect and love for one’s neighbour, for the foreigner in the land, and for those who consider themselves enemies, all as part of one’s love of God.

    ‘These values were the basis of our system of law and justice and I trust that they will remain so as well as motivating those, like Mr Timms, who hold public office.’

    ‘There is no remorse on your part and you refuse to recognise the jurisdiction of this court over you in respect of your attempts to murder the person chosen by your fellow constituents in the East End of London, including Muslims, to represent them in the democratic institutions of government in this country.’
    _____

    I would like to congratulate His Honour, Mr Justice Cooke. And believe me, I don’t often congratulate British judges. In his remarks to this woman he rightly pointed out, as coincidentally I have here before, that our system of law is based on OUR CHRISTIAN VALUES. NOT – NEVER have been and never will be – on opt-out Allah’s Law ‘values’ whereby some followers feel it is an Allah-given right to seek revenge for political decisions by murdering our democratically elected law-makers. Choudhry makes clear that the koran instructed her to do as she did. The judge made clear that in Britain that will not do. Good for him.

    Calling all British Secularists – religious or not: Wear a crucifix with PRIDE. It’s about the cross of democracy. See – https://keeptonyblairforpm.wordpress.com/2010/09/17/shocking-confession-of-an-agnostic-blair-supporter/

    Stabbed MP describes attack (1:41)

    “She was friendly… friendly look on her face. It appeared she was coming to shake my hand, which I thought was a little bit unusual for somebody in Islamic dress, a woman to be willing to shake a man’s hand let alone take the initiative to do so, but that was what she appeared to be doing and I think that is indeed what she was doing.  But as she came up and extended her hand to be shaken she also extended her other hand with a knife in it and pushed it into my stomach.  I don’t think I actually saw the knife.  I shouted something.  It was clear she was going to make another stab.  I tried to stop her doing that and didn’t succeed but then others came and restrained her and pulled her away. And it was only then that I was able just to take a moment just to see what had happened to me and I realised there was  quite a lot of blood and that I had been injured. I was extremely shocked. Nothing had ever happened like this to me before in my surgeries which I’ve been running for many years. And I think I was reasonably calm about it. I realised that I’d been injured. I wasn’t in great pain, perhaps surprisingly. Fortunately there was a very good first-aider on the spot.”

    More here at the Daily Mail on the would-be assassin who smiled when told she’d get life. Scroll to the end to see WHY she thought killing a member of parliament was the right thing to do.

    Unfortunately we couldn’t make her laugh out loud while fulfilling her medieval, vain  cause of martyrdom in the cause of her so-called  religion (of peace).

    Law and civilised behaviour are a powerful combination.

    RELATED

    Stephen Timms (Wikipedia), served as a Cabinet Minister under Tony Blair, was dropped as a Minister when Gordon Brown took over in June 2007, and was later re-instated by Brown in another department.

    Back to top

    Click to Buy Tony Blair’s ‘A Journey’

    _______________

    Sign the Ban Blair-Baiting petition here

    Recent comments:

    “All countries need a leader who isn’t afraid to fight terrorism. I believe Mr. Blair did a necessary job in helping his allies. Are we all just supposed to lie down and wait for them to come for us, I don’t think so.”

    And – “Mr. Blair is one of the finest politicians to have had the privilege of serving the United Kingdom, and Britons are fortunate to have had him as their Prime Minister. Time will show that Mr. Blair’s approach to affairs in the Middle East were and remain correct. From a member of the Commonwealth, thank you, Mr. Blair, for your continued service to legitimate and lasting (and not convenient or politically expedient) freedom.”

    AND – “Tony Blair was the greatest Prime Minister since Winston Churchill and the only regret I have he didn’t get my vote as I live in Canada.”

    AND – “I am sick and tired of television and radio interviewers asking the same old questions over and over, regarding the decision to go to war in Iraq, presumably they hope Mr Blair will let slip some secret information which they would then use against him. History will show if the decision was the right one, (I believe it was) but people must accept that Tony Blair is an honourable man, and made his decision based on the known facts and not with the benefit of 20/20 hindsight.”



    Free Hit Counter

     


     

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

    Leave a Reply

    