Would ‘Health and Safety’ (for wimps) permit this today?

by
  • Original Home Page – And another very early post from this blog
  • Current Latest Page
  • All Contents of Site – Index
  • Sign the Ban Blair-Baiting petition here
  • Comment at end

    Or –

    18th December 2010

    Click to Buy Tony Blair’s ‘A Journey’

    This was almost 60 years ago, in 1951, when Frank Sinatra was young. I’ve never seen this guy before.  His name’s Larry Griswold and he was the co-inventor of the trampoline. (Wikipedia)

    Before today’s popular so-called TV talent shows, which frankly get away with murdering the arts, this was what we used to call ‘talent’.

    I want to ask you something. No, in all seriousness. I am interested. In a slightly funny sort of way.

    Do you really laugh or even smile at today’s comedy?  Sorry, but it’s not funny. Hardly ANY of it, with a few honourable exceptions.

    I heard something which describes itself as a satirical comedy show last night on Radio 4, as I was compiling my Christmas card list at the old slave-driver.

    Suitably called “The Now Show” – confirming what I think of comedy NOW!

    Well – LAUGH?  I thought I’d never start. So Steve Punt and Hugh Dennis didn’t disappoint me. I didn’t even smile. Wasn’t even tempted. Not once.

    It really is NOT funny to pretend this is a comedy show, even a satirical comedy show, when in fact it is no more than an extreme left and anti-right political platform. Well, it IS the BBC. There may well be plenty of criticism to be at directed at the EDL and at the BNP. In fact I am sure there is, but this is not comedy. The day these unbalanced luvvies make a joke out of these wallies we can take their  satire seriously, as it were.

    So, the NOW SHOW last night? Dreadful is not the word. Atrocious. Appalling. Awful…  and that’s only descriptive words starting with “a”.

    Now here’s satire for you. With talent. These guys, older in the tooth, though still I think of the variety that think British/western policy is the reason for the world’s problems, can manage satire without personal attacks and with a bit of style. Today’s so-called satirists should try it.

    Subprime Banking Mess/Credit Crunch

    Back to top

    Click to Buy Tony Blair’s ‘A Journey’

    _______________

    Sign the Ban Blair-Baiting petition here

    Recent comments:

    “All countries need a leader who isn’t afraid to fight terrorism. I believe Mr. Blair did a necessary job in helping his allies. Are we all just supposed to lie down and wait for them to come for us, I don’t think so.”

    And – “Mr. Blair is one of the finest politicians to have had the privilege of serving the United Kingdom, and Britons are fortunate to have had him as their Prime Minister. Time will show that Mr. Blair’s approach to affairs in the Middle East were and remain correct. From a member of the Commonwealth, thank you, Mr. Blair, for your continued service to legitimate and lasting (and not convenient or politically expedient) freedom.”

    AND – “Tony Blair was the greatest Prime Minister since Winston Churchill and the only regret I have he didn’t get my vote as I live in Canada.”

    AND – “I am sick and tired of television and radio interviewers asking the same old questions over and over, regarding the decision to go to war in Iraq, presumably they hope Mr Blair will let slip some secret information which they would then use against him. History will show if the decision was the right one, (I believe it was) but people must accept that Tony Blair is an honourable man, and made his decision based on the known facts and not with the benefit of 20/20 hindsight.”



    Free Hit Counter


    Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    12 Responses to “Would ‘Health and Safety’ (for wimps) permit this today?”

    1. celia walters Says:

      Today’s comedy is too stupid to laugh at

    2. Peter Reynolds Says:

      Oh, large spherical objects that dangle between your legs!

      The Now Show is often hilarious and it has no left wing bias at all. It pokes fun, deservingly, at those on all sides of politics. I imagine they could have great fun with you and ol’ Tone or me and unrestrained debauchery and drug taking.

      What really rattled your cage? Were they just a teensy bit disrespectful to he who has to be venerated as a true deity in all his tanned gloriousness?

      Oh yes, and where’s my Christmas card or have you struck me off your list, eh, eh, eh?

      • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

        Peter, of course you haven’t been struck off my Christmas list! You’re still one of the few online who writes lucidly, even when you are off-beam.

        No, they said nothing, as far as I can recall about whatsistannedname. I have heard this show frequently of course, and the funniest thing about it is how one of them sounds like Eric Morecambe at the start with the announcement “The Now SHOW“. From then on I am invariably disappointed. Like many today on the left they take themselves far too seriously, and they fail to consider really serious issues (like the one I point to) as having a scintilla of satirical value.

        They are either stupid or cowardly. Possibly both.

        But good to know it makes YOU laugh, Peter.

        E-card will be with you by Christmas. I promise.

    3. I am a German and my wife is an Indian. Does my wife need a visa to travel to the UK? | Alone Wives Says:

      […] […]

    4. Rob Says:

      I sort of agree with you, mostly. I certainly don’t find that much modern humour funny, though I have a feeling the situation is getting better. Funnily enough though Hugh Dennis is one of the comedians I do generally enjoy. Haven’t heard The Now Show for a bit, but I think Peter is right to say Punt & Dennis don’t only target the right. (They may have done on Friday of course: didn’t hear it). I DO remember a wonderful sketch on Mock The Week a year or so back, when someone was pretending to be Pres. Ahmedinajad making a (platitudinous) speech, and Hugh Dennis was “translating” it. The line I liked best was:

      Ahmhadinejad: Concerning nuclear weapons, we want to see steadily reducing numbers.
      Dennis: 5…..4……3……2……1…..

      I’m guessing you’d approve of that one?

      I didn’t quite understand your link to barenakedislam. Are you saying you think Punt & Dennis should make fun of the people who run the site? While they’re certainly wallies, I think they’re too obvious a target to be funny, to be honest. And wouldn’t that just reinforce your view of them as anti-right-wing? If of course you think they shsould make fun of the subject of the post to which you link, it’s hard to make satire out of a non-existent Muslim president of the USA (“Muslim-in-Chief”). Or are you going to tell us that you seriously believe Barack Obama to be a Muslim?

      It is if course usual for satirists to poke fun at their own governments, whatever colour those governments are. Private Eye, for example, were just as happy in my student days taking shots as Wilson as they were lampooning Heath. Attacking (non-allied) foreign governments, while it may be fun, has on the whole less satirical edge. I mean, if you;re Chinese, attacking the USA is pretty tame: attacking the Beiijing government a much riskier business. If you’re an Iranian it’s not exactly daring to make fun of Israel: for Israelis to criticise Iran is fairly unthreatening. Make fun of their own governments and it’s a whole other story.

      When I was growing up, British comedy was in the wake of the “satire boom” of TW3, Beyond The Fringe and so on. Which is probably why my contemporaries adored the utterly non-satirical Monty Python, I’m Sorry I’ll Read That Again, and Spike Milligan. Still do.

      Love your video clips, BTW. I shall post my own link (with credit, of course) to Larry Griswold. I doubt whether the Health & Safety guys were too hapy even then: he probably had to be licensed as a stunt-man or similar to get insurance. Stuntmen still do crazy stuff (and hurt themselves doing it) so I guess he could perform today. Whether modern audiences would think him too “unsophisticated”..well, that’s another conversation. I grew up on variety shows so could watch him all night.

      • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

        @ Rob,

        Don’t necessarily agree with barenakedislam on Obama’s American-ness, or not! Since, like the rest of the world, I haven’t seen his birth ceritficate. It seems he is th eonly US president ever not to have produced his full birth certificate and papers.

        But, as you well know, what I was referring to in my link to their site is this sort of post:

        http://barenakedislam.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/uk-terror-plot-arrests-notice-how-nobody-is-calling-them-muslims-but-i-will/

        The sort of information that Britain and much of the west still has a problem with. Calling a spade a spade, as it were. (Since I know you are probably smiling at this phrase, you should know I use it in its true sense – telling it like it is. I have no worries about using that phrase as I have no racial prejudices, and apart from that, Islam, as you also well know, is NOT a race.)

        Glad to see we agree on comedy though. We’ll probably all sit down on Christams Day to watch Morecambe and Wise, and enjoy it as much as we did the first time.

      • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

        @ Rob,

        Don’t necessarily agree with barenakedislam on Obama’s American-ness, or not! Since, like the rest of the world, I haven’t seen his birth ceritficate. It seems he is th eonly US president ever not to have produced his full birth certificate and papers.

        But, as you well know, what I was referring to in my link to their site is this sort of post:

        http://barenakedislam.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/uk-terror-plot-arrests-notice-how-nobody-is-calling-them-muslims-but-i-will/

        The sort of information that Britain and much of the west still has a problem with. Calling a spade a spade, as it were. (Since I know you are probably smiling at this phrase, you should know I use it in its true sense – telling it like it is. I have no worries about using that phrase as I have no racial prejudices, and apart from that, Islam, as you also well know, is NOT a race.)

        Glad to see we agree on comedy though. We’ll probably all sit down on Christams Day to watch Morecambe and Wise, and enjoy it as much as we did the first time.

    5. Rob Says:

      I was fortunate enough to see Eric & Ernie three times on the same tour: they were the stars of the Ovaltine Show ( who remembers those variety shows now?) and my father worked for the firm who
      made Ovaltine. He went to all the shows in NW England to schmooze customers: the rest of the family went to see the shows. They were just as good on stage as on TV.

      • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

        Lucky you, Rob. Brilliant double-act and, especially Morecambe, naturally comic.

        I really loved the Andre Previn sketch. Can you imagine anyone today doing this, without being rude, and getting away with it?

    Leave a Reply

    