Greased lightning Tony didn’t have time to hear my THANKS

by

Comment at end

Or –

22nd January 2011

Click to Buy Tony Blair’s ‘A Journey’

It might have been my camera. It wasn’t set to high-speed, fast-moving, cat-on-a-hot-tin-roof, avoiding shoe-throwers setting.

After the Iraq Inquiry’s main event of the year as I waited in the QEII lobby for a friend and accomplice in the Blair Isn’t A War Criminal gang, it became clear that others already hanging around were awaiting something. So, ever curious, I hung around too.

Suddenly, after Sir John Chilcot and the other panel members had made their own exits, there he was.  Followed by a few minders, with a score or more police officers around the edges of his pathway, a slim, greying but lithe-looking Tony Blair walked quickly past several dozen variously agenda’d individuals.

I was relieved to notice his head was still in place.

I wanted a picture but, seeing the result, perhaps I should have left this. I also wanted to shout at him – yes SHOUT, as is the way with us Brits.  Except that my phrase would have been in essence very different from the usual. I’d have yelled –

THANK YOU, MR BLAIR, FOR YOUR LEADERSHIP”

Unfortunately another bystander had his own agenda’d message, linked to the Iraq issue, though more linked to a corrupt capitalist company which is now linked to Mr Blair as an advisor. All this “linkage” gets kind of wearing on the parts.

While I was clicking the camera the Agenda’d One yelled his diatribe of abuse as the former prime minister was within earshot. Before I could thank the great man he had passed through the police-barred doors, and the phalanx of cameras outside and was inside his ghostly white car.

So I’m taking this opportunity to thank Mr Blair.  One day for the umpteenth time, specially for those in careless ignorance, I may even re-list exactly WHY I thank Mr Blair.

Yesterday, after his second apearance at the Iraq Inquiry, and inside his own metallic casing of greased lightning, he left us all in his wake. Perhaps it was ever thus.

[More to follow on my take of yesterday at the Iraq Inquiry]

Back to top

Click to Buy Tony Blair’s ‘A Journey’

_______________

Sign the Ban Blair-Baiting petition here

Recent comments:

“All countries need a leader who isn’t afraid to fight terrorism. I believe Mr. Blair did a necessary job in helping his allies. Are we all just supposed to lie down and wait for them to come for us, I don’t think so.”

And – “Mr. Blair is one of the finest politicians to have had the privilege of serving the United Kingdom, and Britons are fortunate to have had him as their Prime Minister. Time will show that Mr. Blair’s approach to affairs in the Middle East were and remain correct. From a member of the Commonwealth, thank you, Mr. Blair, for your continued service to legitimate and lasting (and not convenient or politically expedient) freedom.”

AND – “Tony Blair was the greatest Prime Minister since Winston Churchill and the only regret I have he didn’t get my vote as I live in Canada.”

AND – “I am sick and tired of television and radio interviewers asking the same old questions over and over, regarding the decision to go to war in Iraq, presumably they hope Mr Blair will let slip some secret information which they would then use against him. History will show if the decision was the right one, (I believe it was) but people must accept that Tony Blair is an honourable man, and made his decision based on the known facts and not with the benefit of 20/20 hindsight.”


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Greased lightning Tony didn’t have time to hear my THANKS”

  1. Peter Reynolds Says:

    I’m worrying about you now: “a slim, greying but lithe-looking Tony Blair”. Are you sure you’re not liking the “lithe-looker” a little too much? Is this getting out of proportion? A little too much towards hero worship or, dare I say it, man love?

    I can almost see the trembling of your lower lip, the shortening of your breath, your pupils widening as he actually comes within reach of you, a mere human being. I bet you’re trembling all over, perhaps a slight patina of perspiration across your brow, serotonin and dopamine receptors flooded out with neurons, time slowing, noradrenalie kicking in…. Almost the same response as a teenage girl at a Justin Bieber concert (David Cassidy in our day).

    Anyway, I bet you had a great time. I was furiously scanning the only wide shot of the inquiry room wondering which was you but now I find out you were in another room.

    Well another time, another place, I hope to meet you soon.

    Which suddenly forces me to ask, for the first time ever, have you ever met ol’ Tone? Does he know of your sterling efforts on his behalf? He should do.

    • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

      Well, Peter, you could be right. Though personally I don’t see anything that wrong with “man love”. Better than hate, don’t you think? John Rentoul is always accused of the same thing. He respond with – “the finest peace-time leader” – just to wind up his readers who call TB a warmonger.

      One of the reasons I point up some of these things about his physical appearance is because he does look remarkably good, considering everything. Disregard his greying hair, which someone said to me yesterday gave him the “distinguished” look, physically he looks in better shape than many half his age.

      Also, and I’m drafting on it now, this country and even the world right now seems remarkably short of inspirational, energetic, experienced politicans who still wish to contibute to the political scene.

      Yes, it was a good day. Great to meet others who think similarly, male and female, btw. Dilating eyes all round, I suppose!

      No, I have never met ol’ Tone. Less of the “ol”, my good young friend! My eyes will narrow at you, P.

      I have mentioned that I have never been a member of the Labour party, haven’t I? But I did manage to see him in the Commons a few weeks before he stood down. Brilliant. Answered every question. Held the room effortlessly and with quiet command, and did not seem at all nervous. Although we now know he hated every PMQs.

      I had to splash cold water on the eyeballs, after that, I can tell you.

      Then again, so did David Cameron, William Hague, George Osborne and Michael Gove.

      Are you worrying about them too?

  2. Tom Says:

    I’m more annoyed than ever that I left so quickly yesterday. I’m a university student and had to be back at Warwick (a very “New Labour university”, I’ll have you know) for something at 5:00, so it was a bit of a mad dash at the end. To be honest, if I’d thought there was any chance I could end up seeing the man in person I would have waited around, but alas I just assumed he would exit through the backdoor. Thankfully (but not for me) he didn’t.

    I kinda wish I’d made a post on here before going to the inquiry now, I’ve been reading the blog for ages but have never really commented before. I only spoke to two other guys there yesterday (both while in the bathroom) and they were both adamant anti-Blair. Would have been nice to have met some fellow supportive Blairites! This gives an idea of where I was sitting: http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/hs023.snc6/165384_491373904439_625449439_5970158_1289331_n.jpg

    Incidently, were there many more people in the additional viewing room last year? I was surprised how empty the place was.

    • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

      Well, Tom, if ever we few, we happy few get together again (like, say outside the High Court!!) you can hussle up a few like minds and we’ll all wear some FREE THE DOWNING STREET ONE t-shirts, and wave the BAN-BLAIR-BAITING placards.

      Please do come back here and comment often. We are in need of TB supporters to organise, even blog on THE MAN. I’m trying, but it’s really tough going to find many people that will DO anything apart from dismiss his “war crimes” accusers as mad. Despite him looking brave and sounding clear yesterday, I think he is in need of support from us punters. And I think it’s the least we should do, even if he doesn’t ask us to.

      I was also there last year. Both times in the additional hearing room. On Friday I was on the right side too, nearer the front than the shot you are showing. Probably not there when you took the picture.

      Yes, less than a quarter turned up compared to the last time. Most people have passed caring, one way or other, it seems. But I don’t think we TB supporters should stop yet. Even if the Chilcot Inquiry comes out without personal implications regarding his honesty or the legality questions, there will be many who will still try to pursue him through the courts.

      It’s a dreadful way for anyone to have to live, rich or poor, politician or not. And to be blunt, I think people who say they will pursue him for the rest of his life, should be hauled in front of a judge and done for harassment. SERIOUSLY done.

      As if, eh?

  3. little ole American Says:

    The dwindling numbers of protestors only goes to show the general public is growing weary of their ugly placards, threats, and ignorance. It’s really too bad the Chilcot Inquiry couldn’t be held in the States. Can you imagine? LOL!!

  4. New Blog Launched: ‘The Feral Press’ « Tony Blair Says:

    […] Greased lightning Tony didn’t have time to hear my THANKS […]

  5. Iraq Inquiry catch-up service: the wringing of Blair and the mangling of “THE TRUTH” « Tony Blair Says:

    […] Greased lightning Tony didn’t have time to hear my THANKS […]

Leave a Reply

