“I don’t say this lightly” – I’ve cracked it on Twitter. First a death threat & now a “genuine” belief

by

Comment at end

Or –

16th October 2011

DEATH THREAT LATER

GENUINE [DEATH] BELIEF FIRST

Confession time.  I’m not always the most numbingly flattering of people. I have a sometime impolitic tendency to say what I think.  On the other hand I DO give praise – high praise – where I believe it is deserved. Thus, dear reader, this blog. A blog in support of someone else, not espousing my own great qualities of omniscience.

Generally I don’t call people, even bankers, MPs  & the press rude names [correction – some of the press]. Either as individuals or as a group I do not wish them dead, out of some simplistic, puerile view that I KNOW that I am right and they are wrong, evil etc.

[I do confess to having recently upset someone I probably shouldn’t have over something he said I probably misinterpreted. If he hadn’t blocked me for being unrepentant at the time, I’d tell him I’ve seen the error of my ways.]

However, I wouldn’t dream of wishing death on anyone. Even those few I take an immediate dislike to. After all we’re all human. More or less.

Twitter is a funny old place though.

Maggie and Tony share a post-coital cigarette in The Hunt for Tony Blair (Picture: Channel 4/PA)

On Friday night following the latest offering from The Comic Strip – yes that’s its name – ‘The Hunt For Tony Blair’ – on Channel 4, I responded to a Twitter tweet. This chap, tweeting Stephen Mangan, the show’s Tony Blair character, copied to that other comedian Armando Iannucci, had said –

“well played sir, you’re Tony Blair is almost as good as Armando’s puppet! He really is a smiling buffoon”

I had the audacity to respond to him with this –

“He really isn’t… this is a self-serving characterisation of a world statesman.THE world statesman.”

I then received this personal response, Mangan & Iannucci not copied in  –
“I don’t say this lightly but … I genuinely believe the world would be a better place if you were no longer in it!”

Click on the picture below to see it larger –

I gently asked this individual –
‘Perhaps you can explain WHY you say this. Intrigued. “I genuinely believe the world would be a better place if you … etc” ‘
His response –
“simple really, you’re cleary[sic] a bit of an idiot and a loudmouth idiot to boot, thus you are essentially a negative influence”

ALL LOUDMOUTH IDIOTS MUST DIE

So there we have it truth-hunters.  If this guy considers you “a loudmouth idiot” – thus “essentially a negative influence” – you, hopefully(!) won’t be long for this world.

The mind boggles as to how empty the world would be if we ALL thought like this.

I only write about this to let people know that there are people out there who wish an early death for those with whom they disagree.

We should know these people exist. They are a real problem. Frequently of the peace ‘n’ love anti-war sort  – [I know, I know – priceless isn’t it?] – they often exude hatred from every pore when someone disagrees with them, even when supplied with indisputable facts.  My observation that Tony Blair is “THE world statesman”, something inarguable to all but the most prejudiced, cuts no ice with His Omniscience.

We saw this blind bias on full display on The Hunt For Tony Blair. Not content that the Blair character is (in their well-rehearsed gotcha vision) shot “up the a*se” by the Gordon Brown character, we then see a kind of immediate re-incarnation of the reviled self-believing spirit turning over in the water into which he plunged, planning how to con his way past Saint Peter.

And just in case the hopeful assume he’s really dead “The Hunt” ends with “Tony Blair is still at large”.

You couldn’t make it up. Except that these people have and are applauded for it by the hate-filled ignorant. I am not taking this silly “Hunt” programme too seriously, believe me. It is part of the constant vitriol which over time seeps into the subconscious of the gullible.

For proof of that read this comment, also on Friday night –

You got that, didn’t you?  –

“Just watched a documentary about tony blair and how he killed people”.

A “DOCUMENTARY”?  This was 10:10pm Friday night just as ‘The Hunt for Tony Blair’ ended on Channel 4. It was no documentary. Yet this individual thought it was! To him it was about how Tony Blair “killed people”.

Chat down the pub tonight?

  • Intellectual 1 – “Did you see what that bastard Blair did?”
  • Intellectual 2 – “Yeah. First he killed John Smith the great leader of the Labour party, then he pinched his job and killed Robin Cook and all those people in Iraq.”
  • Intellectual 1 – “And then the *ucker bumped off anyone else who got in his wicked way to Bush’s backside.”
  • Intellectual 2 – “I reckon it’s his turn. You up for it?”

Almost forgot – the death threat

That was made a month or so ago on Twitter by someone who said this –

“If I was to ever see you, Bush or Blair I’d kill you without hesitation”

But no worries. Both Twitter and the Police told me so.  Free speech an’ all that.

Sleep well.  Live long.

__________

RELATED

1. Notts Politics – Hunting Down Tony Blair

Excerpt: “The New Labour government is the most dramatised in history and Tony Blair the most dramatised Prime Minister  … But there also lazy reasons, including pandering to easy stereotypes and popular prejudices. Many members of the public, certainly those on the left, somehow ‘know’ that Blair was obsessed by spin, was in love with the powerful and lied to us about Iraq. But how do we acquire such ‘knowledge’? “

2. THIS – is a Review? The Hunt for Tony Blair – Counterfire

Excerpt: “This is a former British Prime Minister, being portrayed as a nihilistic, self-interested mass-killer on mainstream television. Tony Blair: the man who got away with murder. And everybody knows it.”

Everybody knows YOU know nothing, Mr Hold Your Fire.

3. Note the most highly recommended comment at this Telegraph review –

“Worst of all it’s a true story, he’s got away with millions, and the innocent are left with the cosequences[sic]. “

4. And take a look at this for what the “Hunt” actors really think about Tony Blair and the Iraq war. Then tell me it’s just a satire.

Back to top

Click to Buy Tony Blair’s ‘A Journey’

_______________

Sign the Ban Blair-Baiting petition here

Recent comments:

I am staggered by all the hate directed towards our former Prime Minister. I believe that Tony Blair made the Iraq decision in good faith and is most certainly NOT a war criminal. If anyone should be tried at the Hague it should be those in the media for totally misrepresenting the information and facts. The media are to blame for fuelling this hatred as it is purely driven by them. (UK)

__________
The greatest and most successful leader the Labour Party has ever had with the courage to fight the Islamist terrorists who really would like to kill us all, and you never hear a good word about him. The herd of independent minds, commentators, activists etc who have never had to make a difficult decision in their lives drown out all debate with their inane chants of war crimes and blood on his hands. Defend him at every chance. I just wish more people would do it. (Glasgow, UK)
__________
Blair was the greatest Labour Prime Minister. It is a disgrace that the party has turned away from his legacy. Shame on Ed Miliband and his so-called ‘new generation’.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to ““I don’t say this lightly” – I’ve cracked it on Twitter. First a death threat & now a “genuine” belief”

  1. Peter Barley Says:

    Tony Blair was by far the greatest leader the Labour party ever had. He never held back from making a decision he felt was right for both Party and country. Its a real shame that some idiots felt it right to boo when his name was mentioned at the conference.I am afraid that Edd has no chance of emulating Tony, his brother David would have been a far better choice as leader and would, in my opinion, have won the next election. It was a shame that he did not challenge Gordon when he had the chance because I believe the outcome of the last elction would have been very different. Tony thank you for leading the Labour Party your time was the best.

    • keeptonyblairforpm Says:

      Mr Barley,

      And thank you for leaving that comment. I am sure most Labour party members don’t feel like those who booed TB do. But I am not sure that most of them feel as kindly towards Mr Blair as you do. Even though they should.

      Perhaps a spell in the wilderness will help.

Leave a Reply

